• Sudhir Mooray

Yoga Philosophy - The Gunas

Yogic philosophy describes the universe as comprised of two forces, purusha (pure consciousness) and prakriti (the entire known material universe down to the subatomic level). Prakriti itself is composed of three opposing qualities known as ‘the three Gunas’. Guna can be roughly translated into English as quality. The three gunas are: tamas, rajas and sattva. Tamas is characterized by heaviness/dullness, rajas by energy/restlessness and sattva by balance/purity.

Sattva can be increased through asanas, pranayama, meditation, healthy food, exercise and seva (selfless


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All