• Sudhir Mooray

Dharana & Dhyana

Dharana or concentration, the 5th limb of Patanjali's Ashtanga Yoga is a practice. There are numerous practices all aimed at focus and concentration, leading on from the previous stage of Pratyahara which is withdrawing the mind from the senses.

Prolonged concentration leads to the state of Dhyana or meditation. One can be in a meditative state through out the day, where the self awareness is acute, and the person is in total control of his thoughts and emotions. In that state nothing bothers him and he is in absolute peace internally and externally. There is a realization that he is not the physical body or the mind, but something more absolute, something eternal. And that we are all part of this universal consciousness that pervades the whole universe.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All